Lest We Forget – Remembrance Day Ceremony at the Club

Remembrance Day Service – 11th November 2017

LCdr Angus Fedoruk, Officiating
President Lawrence Graham, Presiding

Today’s Musical Accompaniment:
Morry Stearns, Pianist
Louis Dillon, Voice Student at the Victoria Conservatory of Music
Jamie Troy, Sr., Piper
Lou Ranger, Bugler

10:50 hours
General Committee Member Lyle Soetaert introduces the program.

10:53 hours
Piper pipes through the Reading Room and other areas of the Club, to bring all members and guests together to the McGregor Lounge.

10:55 hours
Please rise for the singing of ‘O Canada’.
Pianist & Singer will lead the singing.

10:57 hours
President Graham will welcome those in attendance, and will strike the Remembrance Bell three times to indicate the beginning of the ceremony

10:58 hours
Lyle Soetaert will recite the Act of Remembrance:

“They shall grow not old as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.”

Response from the assembly: “We will remember them.”

Bugler sounds the first half of ‘Last Post’

11:00 hours
President Graham will strike the Remembrance Bell once to mark the beginning of a two minute silence.

President Graham will strike the Remembrance Bell for a second time, marking the end of the two minute silence.

Piper will play lament ‘Flowers of the Forest’

Bugler sounds ‘Rouse’

Captain Stephen Galipeau will recite the Commitment to Remember:

“There were young, as we are young,
They served, giving freely of themselves.
To them, we pledge, amid the winds on time,
To carry their torch and never forget.
We will remember them.”

Response from the assembly: “We will remember them.”

Lieutenant-Commander Angus Fedoruk to introduce the following Special Guests:

Acting Sub-Lieutenant Benjamin Antworth, RCN
Representing the Royal Canadian Navy

Captain Stephen Galipeau, CD, RCCS
Representing the Canadian Army

Captain Sebastien Lemire, CD, RCAF
Representing the Royal Canadian Air Force

Captain Roger Miller, MNI
Representing the Canadian Merchant Navy

Deputy Chief Steve Ing
Representing the Victoria Police Department

Constable Jon Treen
Representing the RCMP

Solo Hymn by Louis Dillon “I Vow to Thee My Country”

Vice-President Grace Van den Brink presents the Remembrance Day Tribute of Union Club Member, Second-Lieutenant Maurice Cane, killed in action August 4, 1917.

Assembly is requested to stand for the singing of
“Abide With Me” and “God Save the Queen”.

“Abide With Me”
“Abide with me; fast falls the eventide;
The darkness deepens; Lord with me abide.
When other helpers fail and comforts flee,
Help of the helpless, O abide with me.

Hold Thou Thy cross before my closing eyes;
Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies.
Heaven’s morning breaks, and earth’s vain shadows flee;
In life, in death, O Lord, abide with me.”

“God Save the Queen”
“God save our gracious Queen
Long live our noble Queen,
God save The Queen:
Send her victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over us:
God save The Queen.”

President Graham will strike the Remembrance Bell:

“I now declare a round for the house; Ladies and Gentlemen, please raise your glasses in preparation for the toasts.”

All rise for toasts.

The Loyal Toast, Vice-President Grace Van den Brink
“Ladies and Gentlemen, The Queen”

To our veterans, Captain Stephen Galipeau
“Ladies and Gentlemen, Fallen Comrades”

To our fallen member, Lieutenant-Commander Angus Fedoruk
“Ladies and Gentlemen, Second Lieutenant Cane”

To our past-President, President Lawrence Graham
“Ladies and Gentlemen, Captain McGregor”

President Graham will strike the Remembrance Bell three times and declare the gathering adjourned.

Loading ...

Scroll to Top